We are delighted to announce the release of the 2016 National Family Law Conference program featuring keynote speakers from around Australia and overseas. 

The concurrent session program features sessions focused on a mixture of carefully designed topics covering financial issues in family law, parenting issues, practical topics for day to day practice and practice management and ethics.

CPD Points Allocation:
For information regarding CPD Points allocation, please click here.


In 2016 we will be celebrating the 40th anniversary of the commencement of the Family Law Act with two special plenary sessions featuring:

Elizabeth Evatt Diana Bryant

The Hon Elizabeth Evatt AC

The Hon Chief Justice Diana Bryant AO, Family Court of Australia
 Thackray CJ Nicholson
The Hon Justice Stephen Thackray, Chief Judge, Family Court of Western Australia The Hon Alastair Nicholson AO QC RFD
 John_Pascoe-14-Edit Ita Buttrose
Chief Judge John Pascoe AC CVO, Federal Circuit Court of Australia Ita Buttrose AO OBE

Keynote plenary speakers include:

M Neave simon-200x300
The Hon Marcia Neave AO, Chair of the Royal Commission into Family Violence Victoria Dr Robert A. Simon (USA)
Associate Professor Dr Craig Hassed, Monash University Medical School   

Junior Lawyers’ Day  – fully booked

A new feature of the National Conference is the Junior Lawyers’ Day – a specially designed one day program for junior family lawyers featuring judicial officers, our overseas expert Dr Robert Simon and leading Australian family lawyers. Competitively priced at just $450, the Junior Lawyers’ Day gives law firms the opportunity to introduce junior lawyers to the National Family Law Conference experience. Delegates also receive a ticket to the Gala Ball. Junior Lawyers are welcome to attend the entire Conference or the designated day on Friday 21 October 2016.

Thinking Allowed

A special panel event Thinking Allowed: Social challenges and controversies will be moderated by ABC journalist and host of 7.30 Leigh Sales.

Leigh Sales High Res
Leigh Sales

The Women in Law Breakfast

The Women in Law breakfast at the 2016 National Conference will feature leading Australian women lawyers in a panel session moderated by ABC journalist and author of The Wife Drought Annabel Crabb. You may book online when registering for the Conference or if you wish to only attend the Breakfast, simply click here to register.

Diana Bryant  Kate jenkins low res
The Hon Chief Justice Diana Bryant AO, Family Court of Australia Kate Jenkins, Federal Sex Discrimination Commissioner
 CJ Warren headshot  crabb, annabel2
The Hon Chief Justice Marilyn Warren AC  Annabel Crabb